top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikita Chand

Overview of the 7 Stages of Alzheimer’s Progression

Alzheimer’s disease takes many forms. Here is a helpful guide to understanding the different stages of progression, and how to best care for a family member.

Stage 1: No Cognitive Decline In stage one, there are no changes seen, felt, or measured.

Stage 2: Increase in Forgetfulness We will notice forgetting where we put things, what we were doing, appointments, etc.

Stage 3: Others Begin To Notice Change Mild decline will begin with changes in how we respond to high-demand situations and others may notice and let us know.

Stage 4: You Notice A Change in Your Ability to Plan Complex tasks become more challenging. We may forget how to turn on the DVD player, or how to drive to a familiar place, and we haven’t had that happen before.

Stage 5: Others Notice A Change Family may remark that we are not dressed for the weather, or that our hygiene habits have changed;

Stage 6: Activities of Daily Living Support At this point, care is required from others to assist with activities of daily living such as bathing, medications, meal prep, etc, at home.

Stage 7: Advanced Six substages that show a severe decline in both language and mobility. Focus on keeping the body and person comfortable without trying to fix or change the condition.

We can help you understand where your loved one may be on the scale. Give us a call or send us a email and we’ll get back to you within 24 hours.

22 views0 comments


bottom of page